Allstate Sugar Bowl Lacrosse Faces Off Saturday

2017 Allstate Sugar Bowl Lacrosse

Allstate Sugar Bowl High School Lacrosse Classic

The 11th Allstate Sugar Bowl Lacrosse Classic is scheduled for January 28-29, 2017 at the Chappapeela Sports Plex in Hammond, La. (19325 Hipark Blvd). This will be the second year of the event being held in Hammond.

The Allstate Sugar Bowl also sponsors a fall high school lacrosse event in Baton Rouge. This 2016 event was played on November 12.

The 2017 high school lacrosse weekend hosted by The Louisiana Chapter of US Lacrosse is expected to attract 80 teams at the varsity, junior varsity, and freshman levels, as well as 14U, 12U and 10U teams. There will also be a three-team girls’ division.

2017 Allstate Sugar Bowl Lacrosse Classic Schedule

Action begins at 8 a.m. on both Saturday and Sunday and will continue throughout the day on seven full-size fields and two additional fields dedicated to 10U and 12U play. There will be pool play on Saturday while Sunday will feature bracket play with a championship in each division.

Saturday’s last match is slated to begin at 6 p.m. while the varsity championship match on Sunday is scheduled for 3 p.m. Each game consists of 22-minute running periods.

Teams participating in the event (multiple teams from some schools) include:

Baton Rouge Mustangs
Brother Martin (New Orleans)
C.E. Byrd High (Shreveport)
Captain Shreve (Shreveport)
Carrollton Boosters
Catholic High (Baton Rouge)
Central High (Baton Rouge)
Christ Episcopal School (Covington)
Christian Brothers (New Orleans)
Dutchtown High (Geismar)
Isidore Newman School (New Orleans)
Jesuit (New Orleans)
Lafayette (La.) Hurricanes Lacrosse
North Shore Lacrosse
Ocean Springs (Miss.) High
St. Catherine (Metairie)
St. Paul’s (Covington)
St. Thomas More (Lafayette)
UMS-Wright (Mobile, Ala.)

Brother Martin High School posted a 7-2 victory over North Shore Lacrosse, made up of student-athletes from Mandeville and Covington, to capture the varsity championship at the 2016 Allstate Sugar Bowl High School Lacrosse Classic in January. St. Paul’s School won the title in the junior varsity division while North Shore captured championships in the U-15 and U-13 divisions while the Carrollton Boosters were victorious in the U-11 division. A total of 44 teams participated in the event.

Lacrosse is recognized as one of the fastest growing team sports in the United States; the sport has seen youth participation grow over 500 percent since 1999 to nearly 250,000. The Allstate Sugar Bowl Lacrosse Series shows that growth as well. The inaugural Allstate Sugar Bowl high school lacrosse event in 2007 had eight teams participating. Since that time, the Sugar Bowl has taken on sponsorship of multiple events, including a spring lacrosse tourney with over 50 high school teams participating.

You must be logged in to post a comment Login

Leave a Reply