LHSLL News.1png

July 23, 2016

The Louisiana High School Lacrosse League (LHSLL) held its annual post season meeting on Saturday in Baton Rouge at Catholic High School. Headlining the agenda was league expansion, district realignment, and consideration of a new playoff proposal.

The first order of business was to fill the League Commissioner position which was vacated earlier this week by the resignation of Jay Martinez. Val Browning was a unanimous selection to serve Martinez’s remaining term. Browning previously served as LHSLL Commissioner in 2014-2015.

Browning gave the Commissioner’s Report and described the league as financially healthy. He stated the league is seeing slow growth that is limited by the number of available coaches and officials. Browning challenged the coaches in attendance to set the example for their players and fans when dealing with officials.

Highlights of the Meeting

A request by Isidore Newman School in New Orleans for membership in the LHSLL as a school-based program at the Division 1 level for the 2017 season was approved unanimously.

A motion by Archbishop Rummel to move from Division 2 to Division 1 was passed.

A proposal to realign league teams into four districts was passed. The North and West Districts will remain unchanged. The South District will now be comprised of Brother Martin, Holy Cross, Jesuit, Newman, Rummel, and St. Martin’s. A new East District will be comprised of Mandeville, Ocean Springs, North Shore, Pascagoula, and St. Paul’s.

After much discussion a new playoff format was adopted:

  • All teams in each district will play one another once during the regular season
  • Based on the end of year district standings, the top four teams in each district will be seeded 1-4.
  • The winner of the regular season division championship will be the top seed (and receive a bye to round 3 (state quarterfinals). They will also have home field advantage for the round 3 game.
  • The next team in the standings will be named second seeded team, and will have home field advantage in round 2.  They will play the winner of the first round game (seed 3 vs. seed 4).
  • The third team in the final division standing will be the third seeded team, and will host the fourth seeded team in the first round game.
  • Each District will follow the exact same format below to determine who moves onto the State Final Four:
  • Game 1 (Weekend or Weekday): #3 vs. #4 (#3 is Host Team)
  • Game 2 (Weekend): Winner of Game 1 vs. #2 (#2 is Host Team)
  • Game 3 (Weekend): Winner of Game 2 vs. #1 (#1 is Host Team)
  • The winner of Game 3 will be named the district champion, and will earn a bid to the State Final Four
  • Once the 4 participants for the state final four have been decided, they will be matched up on a three year rotating schedule:

Year 1:
North vs. South
East vs. West

Year 2:
North vs. West
East vs. South

Year 3:
North vs. East
West vs. South

In Other Business

Richard Clement, representing the Lacrosse Officials of Louisiana (LOLA), stated that structural changes were being made in the association and provided an update of initiatives being undertaken to recruit and train new officials.

A rule change to require teams to schedule two out of district opponents each season passed.

A motion to limit the number of fall ball practices failed.

A motion to limit the number of games, scrimmages, and tournaments that teams could participate in failed.

After much discussion, a motion to revise the season start and end dates was assigned to a committee headed by Tyler Gray to develop a recommendation. Any change would be implemented for the 2018 season.

A committee headed by Michael Pabst will study options on improving the league website ( and report their recommendation at the Fall Meeting.

Votes were taken to fill board positions whose terms had expired or otherwise vacated. Tyler Gray was selected as Secretary. Rob Villio was re-elected as the South Assistant Commissioner. David Gold was elected as the East Assistant Commissioner. James Dicken was selected as the Coach At Large position. Zack Favrot was selected as the North Assistant Commissioner. Lee Scioneaux was selected as the Non-Coach At Large position.

James Dicken was selected as the US Lacrosse Area Coordinator.

You must be logged in to post a comment Login

Leave a Reply