LHSLL Announces US Lacrosse All Americans

2016 US Lacrosse Awards

The Louisiana High School Lacrosse League (LHSLL) on Thursday announced the recipients of this year’s US Lacrosse All American Awards for the State of Louisiana.

All American

Max Murret – a senior attackman and Team Captain for Jesuit High School, Murret scored 50 goals and 41 assists in 2016.  Murret also tallied 29 ground balls and 4 take aways.  Murret was named Offensive MVP of the 2016 LHSLL Championship game for his two goals and three assists in a 15-6 win over Brother Martin.  Murret was a unanimous LHSLL All State First Team selection and will be continuing his lacrosse career at the University of Tampa next Fall.

Rob Hinyub – a senior goalkeeper for Jesuit High School, Hinyub collected 121 saves in 2016 (43 saves facing 64 shots for a 67% save percentage in LHSLL games).  Hinyub was another unanimous consent LHSLL All State First Team selection.  Hinyub was named Defensive MVP of the 2015 and 2016 LHSLL Championship games. Hinyub will continue his lacrosse career at the University of Indianapolis.

Nick Carville – a senior FOGO/midfielder for Catholic High, Carville was a unanimous selection for first-team LHSLL All-State and All-District. He won 58 of his 74 (78%) face-offs at the District level. For the season, he won 230 of the 360 attempts (65%), scored 4 goals, and 7 assists. He was a Team Captain and MVP for the Bears.

Hayden Watts – a senior midfielder/attackman for Loyola, Watts is a repeat selection as a US Lacrosse All American. Watts accumulated 53 points on 32 goals and 21 assists in 2016. Watts was named LHSLL All State First Team in 2016 and was named the Shreveport Times Northwest Louisiana Inaugural Best of Preps Male Lacrosse Player of the Year 2015.


Academic All American

Ryan Flood – a junior attackman and Team Captain for St. Paul’s, Flood earned a 4.36 GPA. On the lacrosse field Flood scored 30 goals and dished out 21 assists to go along with 30 ground balls and 5 take aways for the Wolves. Flood was an LHSLL All District Second Team selection in 2016.

Lee Davis – a senior attackman for Brother Martin, Davis was an honors graduate with a 4.35 GPA with all AP classes and scored a 33 on his ACT. Davis was an LHSLL All State Second Team selection for 2016.

Joe Molina – a senior attackman for Northshor Lacrosse Club, Molina earned 4.18 GPA and scored a 33 on the ACT.  Molina is an AP Scholar with Distinction, National Merit Commendation, and 4 yr Honor Roll Student. Molina also serves as a volunteer youth lacrosse coach.

Mitchell Ratcliff – a senior LSM for Loyola, Ratcliff earned a cumulative GPA of 4.05. Ratcliff scored 6 goals and 10 assists to complement 30 ground balls and 36 forced turnovers for the Flyers. Ratcliff was named the Shreveport Times Northwest Louisiana Best of Preps Male Lacrosse Player of the Year 2016. Ratcliff was an LHSLL All State Second Team selection in 2016.


Coaches of the Year

Greg Anderson – a long time assistant coach in the LHSLL, Anderson took over as Head Coach of the Brother Martin Crusaders in 2016 and immediately turned the program around and gave it direction and focus. Anderson led the Crusaders to the LHSLL Championship game in his 1st year.  The Crusaders won the Allstate Sugar Bowl Lacrosse Classic at the end of January.

John Sella – Sella took over a Captain Shreve team in 2015 that was on a 37 game losing streak while compiling a 4-46 record since 2010. In Sella’s first game as head coach the Gators ended the losing streak on their way to an 8-6 record.  In 2016, Sella led Captain Shreve to a first round playoff bid after a 9-7 season finishing as the #10 team in the state.


Bob Scott Award

This award recognizes the player who goes above and beyond in service to his team, school, and community.

Dante Ness – a senior at St. Martin’s School, Ness is an amazing young man who volunteered countless hours helping coach young players, leading lacrosse activities in the community even when he was not playing. Ness will attend Millsaps in the Fall to continue his lacrosse career.

You must be logged in to post a comment Login

Leave a Reply